My Last Innocent Year

Set on a college campus against the backdrop of the Clinton scandal, MY LAST INNOCENT YEAR is the story of a young woman on the brink of a sexual and artistic awakening.

Isabel Rosen, daughter of a Jewish appetizing store owner from the Lower East Side, has always struggled to fit in at Wilder, the elite New Hampshire college where tradition and frat boys rule. Now in her senior year, she believes she’s found her place–socially, intellectually–when a nonconsensual sexual encounter forces her to consider what she has concealed about herself, and what it has cost.

Enter R.H. Connelly, a once-famous poet and her married writing professor, a man with secrets of his own. Connelly makes Isabel feel seen, beautiful, talented; the woman she longs to become. The two begin a love affair that shakes the foundation of who Isabel thinks she is, for better and worse. But when Connelly’s colleague and his daughter go missing, Isabel realizes that to be the woman she wants to be, she must decide where her true allegiance lies.

A campus novel in the vein of Susan Choi’s MY EDUCATION and Curtis Sittenfeld’s PREP, as well as the portrait of a woman discovering herself through the men she meets along the way like Stephanie Danler’s SWEETBITTER and Lily King’s WRITERS AND LOVERS, MY LAST INNOCENT YEAR asks what it means to be a grown up and whether or not we can outrun our past.

I am currently seeking agent representation for MY LAST INNOCENT YEAR (approx. 86,000 words).